Heads Up: There are only 4 days left in the PeerTracks Crowdsale

As a musician myself, I think that Peer Tracks in going to be revolutionary. If you have not heard of it, it is a decentralized music platform where artists will be able to completely cut out the middle man. The artist will upload their music directly to the PeerTracks website, and they can charge any price that they want for it. The musician makes 100% of each sale. Each artist can also sell tokens known as “Artist Coins”. If fans think that a particular artist is going to blow up, they can then buy the Artist Coins in hopes that the price of the coins will go up as the artist becomes more popular.

When I heard of the PeerTracks concept, I immediately knew that I had to invest. I have hated seeing how badly artists get screwed by record companies, only making pennies on each dollar that they earn the label. I invested fairly early in the PeerTracks crowd sale, so I was able to get quite a few shares (they call them Notes). They have been averaging about 20 BTC in donations per day; and here is how it works. They issue 5 million Notes per day during the period of the crowd sale. You get a proportional fraction of those Notes based on how much you donate, relative to the total donations for that day. So if they received a total of 20 BTC in one day, and you donated 10 BTC that day, then you would receive 2.5 million Notes. However, even if PeerTracks is successful, you won’t reap profits anytime some. The beta version of PeerTracks is estimated to be released in March 2015, so I have resigned myself to the fact that I won’t see anything until at least probably summer of next year.

Sometime next year, PeerTracks will release a wallet, and you will claim your Notes by importing the private key of the Bitcoin address that you used to donate to the crowd sale into the PeerTracks wallet. I have no idea the exact date on which this wallet will be released.