Finally upgraded bcexchange and it keeps crashing at startup

for the record, this started to happen with 4.0.0 branch and keeps on happening after I have upgraded to 4.0.1. btw it’s a pain in the ass to download and compile bcexchange with git because of the git commands being a mess and bcexchange having multiple branches to choose from. I was lucky to discover that for 4.0.1 I had to choose 4.0-stable branch. not intuitive at all. so next time you publish a new version I’d like to see git instructions not just tar.gz download links. I’m not using those I’m downloading from git and I use git pull to get the latest changes. I’m a software developer and linux user myself and I can’t get this shit working, no wonder regular investors are not attracted to these projects if they have to go through the inferno like this just to set up minting. And then the minting fails all of sudden because of assertation failures in the code (not cool, bros)

P mai   01 13:44:28 2016 :: Starting BCExchange Wallet Loop.
P mai   01 13:44:29 2016 :: Main bcexchanged process (PID 0) is dead, restarting.
P mai   01 13:54:29 2016 :: Main bcexchanged process (PID 1676) is alive.
P mai   01 13:54:29 2016 :: Unlocking wallet for minting only.
error: couldn't connect to server
bcexchanged: kernel.cpp:494: unsigned int GetStakeModifierChecksum(const CBlockIndex*): Assertion `pindex->pprev || pindex->GetBlockHash() == hashGenesisBlock' failed.
P mai   01 14:04:29 2016 :: Main bcexchanged process (PID 1676) is dead, restarting.
P mai   01 14:14:31 2016 :: Main bcexchanged process (PID 4219) is alive.
P mai   01 14:14:31 2016 :: Unlocking wallet for minting only.
error: couldn't connect to server
bcexchanged: kernel.cpp:494: unsigned int GetStakeModifierChecksum(const CBlockIndex*): Assertion `pindex->pprev || pindex->GetBlockHash() == hashGenesisBlock' failed.

and from the debug.log file we can see this: